Get Rid of those Headaches! ( And The People That Give Them To You)

Just kidding kind of about getting rid of people. Sometimes you might need to. BUT this is not a counseling post haha. I have suffered years and years with migraines. I have done so many random things to try to figure out what could get rid of them. Some of the protocols I have followed have made my headaches worse, and others have really helped. Am I headache free?No. But I am learning how to figure out what brings them on and what I can do to prevent or get rid of them. I still can get headaches that make me throw up or take me out for the day, but im hoping these days will get less and less. I have some friends and family that suffer from severe headaches on the daily and others who get debilitating ones a couple times a month. Either one this is such a tough way to live life because headaches take everything out of you. I have gone weeks with non stop headaches and it takes all the joy out of me. I have been to many AMA doctors and Functional Doctors, and no one has seemed to completely found the perfect answer for me. I have found lots of different ways to manage my pain and I know there are lots of you out there just like me. I do use pain medications when I have to, but I really do prefer not having to use them. Again, I am not a doctor, I am writing from experience and what I’ve learned from my doctors and the health community around me. Always be having the conversation with your doctor if you suffer from severe migraines and ask them about some of these tips as well! If you have any great tips, please comment below so we can all look out for one another!

  1. Go to Counseling– I know this sounds so “feely” but so many of us hold a ton of things inside. Sometimes you might not even have negative things affecting your life, but just talking about your ideas and dreams can be so healing. Have you ever gotten a headache if something bad has happened or something was said that rubbed you the wrong way? Have you then noticed how a headache can be triggered from that? I’m telling you, going to therapy has been one of the best things for me just emotionally, as well as helped some of my headaches go away. We all hold on to so much and our emotional health has a big impact on our physical health.
  2. De-Stress– Again I know this sounds less fun than just taking an Excedrin, but it’s also so important for so many areas of your life. Life is just plain stressful. We all have so many things we are involved in and goals to achieve, people to see, jobs to do, houses to clean, and on and on. These are normal stressors in life which are not bad, but then add on the negative stressors such as anger, disappointment, relationship issues, etc, then you are a ticking time bomb. Gregg Braden wrote an article that you should check out about The Effects of Stress. When I am stressed I will sometimes do Yoga, which I have talked about in a previous post. Figure out what de-stresses your mind and body. Experts say that it is good to find some time every day to create pleasure for yourself. That sounds crazy in our busy lives, but it can be 10-15 minutes a day. Take a walk on a 10 minute break at work, organize some clutter in your room, find a place that is beautiful to you and just sit and read or write. I know when I am in a beautiful place, it makes my mind more peaceful. Call a friend or family member that brings a smile to your face, take a bath, light a candle, or just sit in silence and turn your brain off. If you have kids, ask your spouse for a half hour to have time by yourself because they will all benefit from it. We tend to have stress from trying to please everyone around us and then take no time for ourselves! What do you do that makes you feel less stressed and more revived? Share with us in the comment section!
  3. Ice and Hot Water– Migraines are caused by dilated blood vessels in the brain, so it can be helpful to draw the blood away from the head. Place your feet and arms in hot bath water and put an ice pack on your neck. Try this for 20 minutes. I just had to do this the other week and it really worked.
  4. Chiropractic Care and Acupuncture– I am a die hard chiropractic supporter. I have gone to one for a year who has helped me so much. You need to find one that will take the time to learn your body. There are some out there who just crack your neck and send you on your way. My chiropractor had me get x rays and found that I have a nerve in my neck and if she cracks it, I get a migraine. Chiropractic care can be so helpful for headaches! If you are weary of it, just give it a try once. You can ask for the doctor to use an activator instead of crack your neck. I have never been to an acupuncturist, but I know lots of people who have had great relief from it.
  5. Eat Every Couple Hours– In a previous post I talk about the importance of Maintaining Your Blood Sugar. If I don’t eat every couple hours, I get such bad headaches. Carry nuts, fruits, or some type of protein source around with you. Your body will thank you for continuing to nourish it throughout the day.
  6. Nasal Irrigation- Sounds gross, I know. Many people suffer with sinus problems and these can cause those annoying headaches in the front of your head and around your eyes. The most popular method is by using a Neti Pot. You use a pot that looks like a tea pot and a water and salt solution. The process can be kind of gross, but this helps clear away mucus and build up in the nasal passages that can be causing those nasty headaches.
  7. Nutritional Support– Get a blood test from your doctor to see if you are lacking some minerals in your body such as Magnesium or Vitamin D which can cause headaches.
  8. Essential Oils– This one can be controversial. Some studies claim that this does not help, while others claim that they do. I can say from personal experience that I have used peppermint oil on my headache and it has gotten rid of it. This has not happened every single time, but a good amount.  Here is a great article from Aromaweb on which oils and how much to use on a headache.
  9. Stretching– I have mentioned that Yoga and stretching can be so helpful. Sometimes the neck and head muscles just need to be relaxed and opened. A good 10 minute stretching session can bring so much relief to your headache. Pop Sugar has a great article on 7 poses that can help a headache. 
  10. Drink Water– This one seems so easy but it’s also really hard. Everyone loves to drink sodas and juices that we forget how important just plain water is. When I say “plain” I mean ,not gatorade or fruit infused waters, just water. Dehydration is a big factor of headaches and Chris Daniels from Livestrong.com says, “By the time you feel thirsty, you could be headed for dehydration”. To learn how much water you should be drinking, take your weight and multiply it by 2/3 or 67%. I weigh 150 pounds, So I should be drinking about 100 ounces of water or 6 (16oz) cups of water. It is easier to achieve if you carry around a water bottle and just count how many times you fill it up. Especially with how hot it is right now, we should all be drinking a lot of water!

I have been working on all of these methods and have been finding some relief. Sometimes my head hurts so much, that I just have to fall asleep. This is happening less than before, but still too often. If you suffer from headaches, I hope this can be of some help to you! Please let me know if you try any of these and if they do or do not help! Happy Health!!

Leave a Reply

