My New Favorite Mint Protein Shake!!!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I am on day 9 of my Candida Cleanse and I must say I’m feeling pretty good! My body is liking me for taking out all sugar and carbohydrate items. I definitely miss fruit and coffee, but I am feeing a tad better, so I will take the swap. I lost 6 pounds on my first week of veggies only! I know it will come back because I am eating more food, but I am definitely hoping I can keep some of the weight off because I am eating so clean. I have been eating healthy for a while but I realized I do like to have my tortilla chips or corn tortillas for tacos. I didn’t realize how many corn products I have been consuming. Tacos were definitely my go to food choice, but I am learning how to make different recipes.I hung my first planter yesterday for mint to grow! I can’t wait to add more herbs. One recipe I have learned is this protein shake! It’s so yummy and has no sugar! It’s amazing! I can not take credit for this. I learned about this and some other delicious recipes from The Candida Diet. I changed the recipe a little bit so that it would have protein in it, so it could be a meal instead of a snack. Either way is super tasty! The ingredients are very simple, but I have some tips for how to choose the cleanest versions of these so you get the healthiest meal possible.

Almond Milk

If you look at your carton of almond/coconut milk in your fridge or the grocery store, you will notice an ingredient called “Carrageenan”. This is an ingredient used to thicken the product and add a fuller taste. Unfortunately, this ingredient can be irritating your gut and is considered  a “cancer causing” ingredient.  An article from Healthy Eater lists almond milks from best to worst, which is super helpful. I like to stick to the unsweetened original milks that have no sugar at all. Some vanilla milks can have 7g of sugar per cup. Just look next time you are at the store. There are options with no carrageenan that are sugar free as well. Another good option is to make your own almond or nut milk. It is pretty simple. Here is a step by step instruction guide I used the first time to make my own milk. Homemade Vanilla Cinnamon Almond Milk

Almond Butter/Nut Butter/Peanut Butter

The same thing goes with whichever nut butter you choose. I like to stick to the simple ingredient ones that are just nuts and salt. These have no sugar as well which is great. One option that I love is called “Open Nature”. I can’t seem to find it online anywhere but I buy it from Safeway surprising enough.

 Protein Powder

This ons is a tough one. Lots of health critics go after pretty much every protein powder out there. They have so many sugars and artificial flavors. I have found one that I love that has less than  1g of sugar per serving. I use Whey Peptein by Premiere Research Labs. It has pretty much no flavor and is the simplest protein powder I have found so far. No gimmicks, just protein powder.

Vitamin D Drops

Most people don’t get nearly enough vitamin D that their body needs. There are numerous benefits to Vitamin D.”Activated vitamin D is one of the most potent inhibitors of cancer cell growth,” says Michael F, from an article on WebMD. I use Vitamin D Drops by Biotics Research. These last you for a long time and are also flavorless.

Almond Milk Mint Protein Shake

1 Cup Almond Milk

Almond Milk Ice Cubes ( As many as you like)

1 TBS Almond Butter

1 Packet Stevia (optional)

10 mint leaves

2 Scoops Whey Peptein Protein

1-3 Drops Vitamin D Drops

( If you can eat fruit then a banana would be a great inclusion) If you are on a no sugar diet at all then do not add fruit

Throw all these ingredients in the blender and Enjoy! Let me know what you think of it!! It is a perfect shake in the morning and makes me look forward to breakfast again!!

One thought on “My New Favorite Mint Protein Shake!!!

Leave a Reply

